Continuation…

Habara gani!

I’ve already heard it a couple of times since yesterday, the first day of August – we only have 4 more months until the end of the year.   Not the exact words, but words to that effect.   The year has flown by.

I will be continuing my discussion. You  have not sent me any comments to engage in this discussion about readers of diversity books. The discussion started with comments about whether or not white readers should read books by white authors about whites.

Before the discussion I would like to note the death of  writer, actor Sam Shepard.  Condolences to his family, friends and colleagues.  Shepard wrote Buried Child a book for which he won the Pulitzer Prize, films, plays, and other novels.  Sam Shepard died on July 30, 2017 of ALS.

Last week I said that black is a color.  I said that it is a color because it is pigmented.  I said that there are colors that are pigmented and there are colors that are light waves.  I said that the primary colors (red, blue and yellow) are determined by the light wave test.  I said that the test is conducted with a white light.  I said that white is not one of the colors that is picked up by the light wave test.  I said that black is not one of the colors picked up by the light wave test.  I said that white, however, is said to be a color.  I said that black is said not to be a color.  I said  the reason for the color white being determined a color is because the light wave test uses a white light which separates into colors during the test.  The test therefore, determines the color white exists by using a white light.  Not from the test itself, but from the testor’s use of a white light that separates into colors.

LIGHT is the rays from the sun, also.  If the light waves/rays from the sun are blocked by clouds, buildings, trees, etc.  you get shadows or dark.  Dark is light’s opposite.  I said that last week.  You cannot have light and dark in the same space at the same time.  For the white light to have picked up black, the black would have had to be in the prism.  The prism is usually a diamond.  It, because it is a part of a test is probably the clearest and best diamond that can be used.  For it to have black in it, the prism/diamond would be flawed.  For black to be reflected in the prism,  the prism would be reflecting pigmented black not a wave.  Black is therefore, said to not be a color.  It does however, have a lot of colors in it, just like the white light that is used in the light test.  But, it is pigmented.  To get  pigmented black, I think you take pigmented dark colors, put them together and see if you don’t get something dark or close to black.  Not something white. I say if you use light colors, you will get dark light colors or light colors that stay the same color not lighter colors.

What is really interesting about how we deal with color is that, white is considered a color by artists, and scientists, etc.  If you randomly ask say your man on the street (smile), white probably will not be considered a color.  You can get into a fight, brawl, etc. over saying it is.

As I leave, I’d like to say I’m finish with this talk.  You should, in the words of Maulana Dr. Ron Karanga, however,  “rescue me if I am wrong” about my thoughts on the color situation, by putting your thoughts in the Comment section below, or on my Facebook Page, tweet me on Twitter, or send me and email.

A Birthday Story is my diversity book.  Sold one today.  p You can pick one up on amazon.com, B&N.com, xlibris.com or Beaverdale Books.com.

Bye!!

 

 

Author: mitchellworksweb

Lana Jean Mitchell is a writer. She writes poetry, books and movies reviews, short stories and essays. She wrote a movie review blog for more than a year, and is currently has an author's blog I'm on social media, Facebook, twitter, linked-in, and of course amazon.com, and several sites where poetry and books/ children's books are discussed. Visit me with a tweet, a comment, and/or a Goodreads review.

Leave a Reply

