Continuing

Publishers Weekly,  July 3, 2017, Angie Thomas author of The Hate U Give, a YA (young adult) book states in an article written by Sue Corbett,  “A book I was so afraid of has touched so many people and more than that, has shattered so many myths.”  The word was books about black kids or with black people on he cover didn’t sell.  That black kids didn’t read.   But my book is showing that if we give them books they see themselves in, they will.”  I should mention that Thomas is African American.  Corbett says that four months after its release, The Hate U Give (Harper Collins/Balzer + Bray, Feb.) is in its 13th printing, with more than 200,000 copies in print. Everybody loved it:  The Hate U Give received eight starred reviews.  A film adaptation is in development at Fox 2000.

I’d like to add that with that many copies sold, there are probably other color readers buying her book.  Diversity books really will sale,  is the message I get from the quote.  It is also (the quote) in agreement with what Dr. Charmaine Wilkerson said in her Facebook comment that I wrote about a couple of weeks ago.

The negative message that is out there about diversity books then has another source.  It isn’t the readers, or the  sales.  Maybe it has to do with something else I’ve heard about, people who are black.  We don’t exist.  Why, because the color black does not exist. I first heard about the non-existence of the color black in a junior high art class.   I can and have defended the existence of black as a color.  I think my defense is on it, can’t be topped, can’t be proven wrong by those who are willing to go with the science and not their emotions and the need to be right.  I will post my argument  next week.  You can submit your argument for or against the existence of the color black in the mean time in my comment section below or on one of my links, Twitter, Facebook, Tumbler, Linked-In.

I’m going to stop here.  My information for the blog is piling up, but I’m, trying to keep the blog short.

My diversity book, I hope you will purchase between now and then also:  A Birthday Story.  It’s a children’s book.

Bye!

 

Author: mitchellworksweb

Lana Jean Mitchell is a writer. I write poetry, book and movies review, and short stories. I wrote a movie review blog for more than a year. I'm on social media, Facebook, twitter, linked-in and several sites where poetry and books/ children's books are discussed. Visit me with a tweet and on goodreads.

Leave a Reply

