May 21, 2017 Blog Entry

Habara gani!

An email this past week from lee&low.com, diversity book publishers, contained items I’m sharing today, along with other items I hope will pique your interest.

First, Rent Party Jazz, a video on YouTube about a rent party for a down on their luck African American family in “nuawleans” (New Orleans),  is a book  being read by triple crown of acting (Oscar, Emmy and Tony) winner Viola Davis, as part of the Online Collection of children’s stories that are being read by notables.  LeeandLow also shared the video in their email.

Second, there’s a survey @google.com, for teacher’s to use to determine the strengths and gaps in diversity in their class library collection.  The title of the survey is “How Diverse and Culturally Responsive Is Your Library.” 

The American Writers Museum, opened on May 16, 2017 at 180 N. Michigan Avenue, Ste. #505, Chicago, IL., according to the Chicago Tribune. 

(A personal note.  Writing this takes a lot of serious thinking about because of the widespread killings in Chicago.  The drive-bys especially appear to be aimless.  The Chicago Tribune reports that they are on their way to 700+ again this year.  They say they were in that range in 2015.  Well!!)

I asked readers to let me know if they had attempted to participate in my amazon give-a-way.  I understand from amazon that I got no taker’s.  So I wanted to know from you, WHY!!.  If you tried to be a participant, please let me know in the comment section.

I have been to the sites where my books can be purchased and found that you must use my name, Lana Jean Mitchell, when ordering the book online, because there are other works with the same title, “A Birthday Story.”  I also suggests if you are in Des Moines the weekends of June 3rd and 4th, and/or 10th and 11th,  join me at my book signings at Nobbies in Clive.  You can also pick up a book at Beaverdale Books in Beaverdale.

No books today from the Stenhouse catalogue.

Bye!!

Author: mitchellworksweb

Lana Jean Mitchell is a writer. I write poetry, book and movies review, and short stories. I wrote a movie review blog for more than a year. I'm on social media, Facebook, twitter, linked-in and several sites where poetry and books/ children's books are discussed. Visit me with a tweet and on goodreads.

Leave a Reply

