Last Post of 2017

Habara gani! Kuumba, Habara Gani!

This post is the final one for mitchellworksweb for this year. Today is the 31st of December. Happy New Year!!! If you are reading this, you got through one more.

I’ve changed the featured image for the blog. I prefer the one that I had, but decided to try something new. The one that was there has been a part of my social media for several years. But I like the image of children reading, especially in a place that is not set aside for them to read. They are on the floor in the reading magazines.

The new image looks impressive doesn’t it? It’s the pin I received from Great Poets Across America, to celebrate National Poetry Month, and the publication of my poem in April of 2012. The poem, “If I Cry, Won’t You Hurt for Me?” is in the edited compilation entitled “Great Poets Across America, Brooke Alexander, Editor.

This past week grazali’s mediterranean cafe’, hosted a book signing again for me to sell and sign my children’s book, “A Birthday Story.” The publication of the book is an award for 2016. I have future signing dates coming up. One on Dr. King’s Birthday, January 16th, 2017 at Beaverdale Books. I think this is an acceptable way to spend this day of celebration. I hope the crowd is large, because others feel as I do about reading. I hope you are one of those too and will see me at Beaverdale’s if you are in Des Moines.

Bye!

Author: mitchellworksweb

Lana Jean Mitchell is a writer. I write poetry, book and movies review, and short stories. I wrote a movie review blog for more than a year. I'm on social media, Facebook, twitter, linked-in and several sites where poetry and books/ children's books are discussed. Visit me with a tweet and on goodreads.

Leave a Reply

